The Maternal Health Sub-BMC of CCTH is a comprehensive clinical department that provides emergency and non-emergency services for a whole range of obstetric and gynaecological conditions. It was established with the inception
of the Cape Coast Teaching Hospital, but fully operationalized in 2016. The Sub-BMC comprises of the following units:

  • Obstetrics & Gynaecology Ward
  • Delivery Suite
  • Delivery Suite Theatre and Recovery Ward
  • Antenatal Care Clinic (ANC) & Postnatal Care Clinic (PNC)
  • Gynecological Clinic
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology Emergency Centre
  • Cervical Cancer Prevention Centre


To be a world class Leader in the provision of clinical services, medical education and research.


To build a unified department of diverse expertise and be an inspiring model of exceptional clinical care experience, medical education and cutting-edge research in maternal and new-born health with global impact.


  • To provide comprehensive Obstetrics and Gynaecology Services
  • To support the training of undergraduate and postgraduate Health Professionals in the area of Obstetrics and Gynaecology.
  • To conduct research into emerging Obstetrics and Gynaecology problems



  1. Dr. Evans Agbeno (Head of Department)
  2. Dr. Sebastian Ken-Amoah (Lead clinician)
  3. Mrs. Mary Ghartey (DDNS)
  4. Mrs. Josephine Nelson Buah (DDNS)
  5. Mr. Anthony Duku (Accountant)
  6. Mr. Charles Ebow Baako (Business Manager)
  7. Ms. Constance Cobbold (Pharmacist)


Comprises of members of CORE MANAGEMENT TEAM plus:

  1. Dr. Betty Anane-Fenin (Specialist)
  2. Dr. Gloria Nuer-Allornuvor (Specialist)
  3. Dr. Joseph Adu (Specialist)
  4. Dr. David Walawah (Specialist)
  5. Dr. Anthony Ofori-Amanfo (Specialist)
  6. Dr. Mohammed Mouhajer (Specialist)
  7. Dr. Abdoul Azize Diallo (Specialist)
  8. Josephine Nelson Buah (DDNS)
  9. Justina Amoah (In-Charge, O&G Ward)
  10. Patricia Ansong (Deputy In-Charge, O & G)
  11. Marian H. Quayson (In-Charge, ETAT)
  12. Rebecca Affum (Deputy In-Charge, ETAT)
  13. Tatiana Quainoo (In-Charge, Delivery Suite Theatre)
  14. Agnes Kantapir (Deputy In-Charge Delivery Suite Theatre)
  15. Antoinette E. Borlu (In-Charge, D/S Recovery)
  16. Joana Peace Otoo (In-Charge, Delivery Suite)
  17. Efua Inkum (Deputy In-Charge D/S)
  18. Theresa Bonzie (Deputy In-charge, Delivery Suite)
  19. Josephine Aboa-Tete (Human Resources Manager)


  • Maternal-Fetal Medicine
  • Fertility and Family Planning
  • Gynae-oncology
  • Uro gynaecology
  • Diagnostic minimally Access Surgery